West Bengal Chapter of IAPMR

IAPMR – West Bengal Branch started in the year 1980 under the able leadership of Dr S K Banerjee as president and Dr N Sarkar as Secretary. IAPMR-WBPMR has successfully organized since its inceptions various National conferences, with first being in the year 1980 at NIOH, Kolkata (Now, NILD, Kolkata)  with Dr S K Banejee and Dr K S Bose as the chairman and Dr N Sarkar and Dr Ashok Sengupta as organizing Secretary. The other national conferences were in the year 1980, 1988,2002,2009 and last one was in the year 2017 with Dr R.N Halder as Chairman and Dr R Pramanik as Organising Secretary.

The other fact that West Bengal PMR can proudly share is that First MD in PM&R, in India was from school of Physical Medicine (SPM), IPGME&R Kolkata, Dr Debapriya Banerjee (1979-1981).