West Bengal Chapter of IAPMR

Academic activity

23rd Annual State Conference 2021

Organized by: IAPMR (West Bengal Chapter)

Date: 27th March, 2021; Venue: Newtown Business Club, Kolkata


President of Organizing Committee: Dr Abhishek Biswas

Organizing Secretary: Dr Dilip Khatua

The West Bengal Chapter of IAPMR organized its 23rd Annual State Conference on the 27th March, 2021 in hybrid mode(both offline & online platform).

The theme of the Conference was “Modern Concept in Rehabilitation: Changing Trends”.

The Conference was inaugurated on 27th March 2021 at 11:30 AM. The President ofOrganizing Committee, Dr Abhishek Biswas extended a warm welcome to the Hon’ble Chief Guest, the Guest of Honour and everyone else who had attended conference. He emphasized important role of PMR in comprehensive assessment and management in pandemic situation as well as changing trends and modern concept in Rehabilitation.

The Chief Guest of the Inaugural Function of this Conference was Prof (Dr) Debashis Bhattacharya, DME,H&FW, Govt. of West Bengal. He appreciated the efforts of the Organizing Team to organise this Conference despite several challenges. He also emphasized on need of PMR in present scenario.

The Guest of Honour was Tilottama Majumdar, Eminent Novelist. She congratulated the organizing team and mentioned the importance of PMR and the spread of awareness in general people by sharing her own experience.

Dr Dilip Khatua, Organizing Secretary presented Secretary’s report. The Souvenir was released by the Chief Guest & the Guest of Honour during inaugural function.

The academic event started with PGT’s competitive session followed by RMO & Senior Residents’ lectures by Dr Ambar Konar, specialist Medical Officer, BarasatDistric Hospital on “Rehabilitation Medicine: Attitude; An introspection through the eyes of residents”, Dr Sucheta Saha, Consultant Rehab Physician, Dept of Neurorehabilitation, INK on “Rehab Robotics: From Disability to Ability”, Dr Nabarun Gupta, RMO cum clinical tutor, Sagore Dutta Medical College on “Comparison of the efficacy of genicular nerve block and injection of Hylan GF 20 versus genicular nerve block only for improving pain and function of grade 2 and grade 3 Osteoarthritis knee” and Dr Sandipan Hazra, RMO cum clinical tutor, RG Kar Medical college on “Brain activation in chronic nonspecific low back pain.”

The CME session was initiated with aplenary session on “Interventional Neurorehabilitation: Beyond the convention”by Dr Rajesh Pramanik, Professor & HOD, PMR, IPGMER-SSKM Hospital, Kolkata followed by faculty lectures by Dr Arupratan Ghosh, Assistant Professor, PMR, Medical College Kolkata on “Sensory Integration Therapy – An emerging Neuro Rehabilitation tool” and Dr Madhusree Sengupta, Consultant in Neurorehabilitation, Institute of Neurosciences, Kolkata on “Telerehabilitation in Neurorehabilitation”.

Lecture on Medical Ethics was delivered by Dr Abhishek Biswas, Ex Director NILD.

After lunch a debate on “Interventional Physiatry supersedes nonpharmacological conservative rehabilitative measures in pain management” was conducted between Dr Asis Kr Kundu & Dr Ambar Konar and Dr Kshetra Madhab Das & Dr Nahid Reza.

A panel discussion was held on “Emphasis should be given on diagnostic and acute medical management in current physiatry practice”. Panellists were Dr ParthaPratim Pan, Professor & HOD, PMR, North Bengal Medical college; Dr Mouli Madhab Ghatak, Senior consultant physiatrist, Director, MRC; Dr SL Yadav, Ex president of IAPMR, Professor, PMR, AIIMS, New Delhi and Dr Sanjay Kumar Pandey, HOD, PMR, AIIMS, Patna.

After speech on “Comprehensive care and rehabilitation in Haemophilia” during sponsored session by Dr Pradip Kumar Mallick, Assistant Professor, PMR, Bankura Sammilani Medical college, our invited guest Dr Sanjay Kumar Pandey delivered lecture on “Update on management of pressure injury : A Physiatrist’s perspective” followed by speech on “Application of artificial intelligence in the field of rehabilitation” by Dr MM Biswas, Senior Consultant Physiatrist, Ex President of IAPMR West Bengal chapter.

Dr Arindam Mitra, Junior Resident, IPGMER-SSKM Hospital was awarded first prize and Dr Piu Dhua, Junior Resident, RG Kar Medical college was awarded second prize for PGT’s competitive session.

GB meeting was conducted by members. After that several cultural activities like singing, recitation, dancing, playing instruments etc. were performed by Physiatrists and their family members.

The Conference was well attended by 76members physically and 10 members on virtual mode. It was successfully completed with very enlightening talks and sessions.

West Bengal Medical Council approved Accreditations of CME hours for 4 hours.